Launch-11: Recipients of the International Sculpture Center 2009 Student Awards

Opening Reception

Thursday, Jun 3, 2010
6:00 - 9:00 pm


Jun 3, 2010 - Aug 14, 2010


Main Gallery

Launch-11: Recipients of the International Sculpture Center 2009 Student Awards showcases the eleven winners of the International Sculpture Center's Outstanding Student Achievement in Sculpture Awards. The winners were selected from more than 441 faculty-sponsored nominees representing over 176 colleges and universities from around the world. "This year's winners came from the largest pool of outstanding nominations yet," said Johannah Hutchinson, Executive Director at the ISC.

Launch-11, a traveling exhibition previously showcased at Grounds For Sculpture in New Jersey and at the Salt Lake Art Center, is the newest aspect of the Student Awards program. It's third and final exhibition at Blue Star Contemporary Art Center marks the first time any of the work has been seen in the Southern United States.



Luke William Achterberg, Relative, Painted steel, 90 x 168 in., 2009 Matthew Boonstra, Manufacturing Sympathies, Iron chips, magnets, mannequin, steel, 52 x 180 x 180 in., 2009 Kandace Collins, Critical Mass, Wax, Dimensions variable, hands 5 x 3 in. each, 2008 Sharon Kirby, Original Gray Intendo, Mixed media, 36 x 48 in., 2007 Robert Loring, Delftware 2009, Ceramic, Dimensions variable, 2009 Casey Lynch, Levitas, Mixed media, 48 x 48 x 24 in., 2008 Sanford Mirling, Brandi, Won't You?, Oak, vinyl, 87 x 34 x 30 in., 2008 Ryan Schwartzkopf, I Don't Know Whether To Kill Myself Or Go Bowling, Fabric, mixed media, 79 x 83 x 108 in., 2008 Caelie Winchester, Totem, Hydrostone, 102 x 48 x 48 in., 2009 Justin Shull, Porta Hedge, Mixed Media, 72 x 240 x 48 in., 2009 Rachael Wong, Red Effect, Mixed media, Dimensions variable, 2009
Blue Star Contemporary Art Museum
116 Blue Star, San Antonio, TX 78204
(210) 227-6960 | Contact Us | Hours

Blue Star Contemporary gratefully acknowledges major support from the City of San Antonio Department for Culture & Creative Development; The Lifshutz Family; Ann Griffith Ash; The Brown Foundation, Inc.; Charles C. Butt; Capital Group and The Capital Group Companies Charitable Foundation; Penelope Speier and Sonny Collins; the Mary Hobbs Griffith Foundation; H-E-B and H-E-B Tournament of Champions; the Kronkosky Charitable Foundation; the National Endowment for the Arts; Ricos Products Co., Inc.; a grant from the John L. Santikos Charitable Foundation Fund of the San Antonio Area Foundation; Valero Energy Corporation and the Valero Energy Foundation; and Weston Urban. Additional essential support is provided by 1010 South Flores Lofts and 1111 Austin Highway Lofts; Argo Group; C.H. Guenther & Son, Inc.; Dr. Dacia Napier; Frost Bank; Sarah Harte; King William Association; Kim Lewis and Jessica & Clint Worth; Neiman Marcus; Rackspace; Silver & Black Give Back; Silver Eagle Distributors; Texas Commission on the Arts; Wendy & Tom Wirth; and the Community Partners, Members, Individual Donors, and Board of Directors of Blue Star Contemporary.

© Contemporary Art For San Antonio 2016