San Antonio Painters - Curated by Barbara MacAdam

Opening Reception

Thursday, May 31, 2012
6:00 - 9:00 pm


May 31, 2012 - Aug 18, 2012


Main Gallery

Related Events

New Admission Policy

Blue Star Contemporary Art Center is pleased to present San Antonio Painters, an exhibition juried and curated by Barbara MacAdam, Deputy Editor of ARTnews magazine. This highly anticipated exhibition opens with a reception at Blue Star from 6 - 9 p.m. on Thursday, May 31 and runs until August 18, 2012.

Blue Star Contemporary Art Center received an enthusiastic response from the San Antonio arts community, receiving more than 130 artists' submissions; from that group ten artists were chosen for studio visits.

MacAdam was faced with the difficult job of selecting artists for studio tours during her upcoming visit to San Antonio on April 19-21, stating, “A lot of talent went into the work submitted for this show, and it was difficult to narrow down the selection. What I principally aimed for, and found, was originality. Beyond that, diversity was important, in style, medium, and genre. There are examples of abstract work, narrative art, still life, graphic styles, folklore, and more. There were no rules in the choosing. This is the work that grabbed my attention, both for (or despite) its quality or even its imperfections.”

After the artist studio visits, MacAdam made the final selections for San Antonio Painters, which will feature the following 8 artists: Andrew Anderson, Roberta Buckles, Marcus Garza, Carmen Cartiness Johnson, Elizabeth McDonald, Sammy Velasquez, Sandy Whitby and Rachel Ziegler.



Carmen Cartiness Johnson, Aaaah Amor
Blue Star Contemporary Art Museum
116 Blue Star, San Antonio, TX 78204
(210) 227-6960 | Contact Us | Hours

Blue Star Contemporary gratefully acknowledges major support from the City of San Antonio Department for Culture & Creative Development; The Lifshutz Family; Ann Griffith Ash; The Brown Foundation, Inc.; Charles C. Butt; Capital Group and The Capital Group Companies Charitable Foundation; Penelope Speier and Sonny Collins; the Mary Hobbs Griffith Foundation; H-E-B and H-E-B Tournament of Champions; the Kronkosky Charitable Foundation; the National Endowment for the Arts; Ricos Products Co., Inc.; a grant from the John L. Santikos Charitable Foundation Fund of the San Antonio Area Foundation; Valero Energy Corporation and the Valero Energy Foundation; and Weston Urban. Additional essential support is provided by 1010 South Flores Lofts and 1111 Austin Highway Lofts; Argo Group; C.H. Guenther & Son, Inc.; Dr. Dacia Napier; Frost Bank; Sarah Harte; King William Association; Kim Lewis and Jessica & Clint Worth; Neiman Marcus; Rackspace; Silver & Black Give Back; Silver Eagle Distributors; Texas Commission on the Arts; Wendy & Tom Wirth; and the Community Partners, Members, Individual Donors, and Board of Directors of Blue Star Contemporary.

© Contemporary Art For San Antonio 2016